Are you saved & Are you sure???

“Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly.  For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come. This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance. That is why we labor and strive, because we have put our hope in the living God, who is the Savior of all people, and especially of those who believe.” —1 Timothy 4:7-10

what must i do to be saved

This is a question many are asking today… “What must l do?”… “Did I do it right?” … “Did I really mean it?” … “How can I know for sure?”  Have you ever asked yourself any of those questions? …I have… and because, in my service as a pastor, I know many others ask those questions also! …. Sometimes much too often… 

“Let’s Explore”…. 

As a child, I was raised in a denomination of Christianity who primarily taught the doctrine of predestination … have you ever heard of that?? …Without going into a lot of detail, let’s just say ‘predestination’ in this case means, God has already predetermined that: ‘some of us have been chosen for heaven, some of us have not.’ …This is a pretty simple definition and is much more in-depth, but this should be sufficient for our exploring today…

Being an inquisitive child, I had many questions about what this “predestination” meant and why God would do such a thing as condemn folks to “hell” even though they did not know they were condemned …and would not know it until death and then it would be too late… and, but, and, why? … You know the routine if you have a child or have ever been a child. 😉

The truth is… many of us still wrestle with those questions today as adults… are you one of them? … I was one of them UNTIL… until what? … until I changed my mind… that’s what!!! … And you can do it too… you are allowed, it’s your mind, YOU can change it…!!!

“Repentance” … ever hear this word? It is thrown around quite a bit.. and rather loosely most often. …Repentance basically means… “to change your mind, to change directions, to change your thinking, philosophy, or paradigm”… and yes, it can mean more than this, …this is a simple definition. I encourage you to look it up for yourself! … This word has taken on meanings of many different forms, …especially in religious circles, …most of which are highly exaggerated from the original meaning… Know what I mean?… 

Now, I will give you my thoughts on this matter… and they are just that, my thoughts! …Yes, I have researched scriptures and history, early church writings, different schools of thought, and so forth… but…  IT ALL BOILS DOWN TO THIS… it is YOUR mind and YOU must decide for yourself… So, following is My decision, it may not be your decision… and that’s Ok.

I stopped looking at what I had to do, I stopped asking myself if I had done it right, …if I really meant it and all those questions… Instead I began looking at Jesus, at His life, His words… His cross… His death and burial… and His resurrection! I stopped focusing on ‘my part’ and began to focus entirely on ‘His part’… and you know what???… I changed my mind…

NO, Jesus changed my mind… for me…Praise Him 🙂

Now, I have gone over my “word count”.. so let’s try to wrap this up… I cannot change your mind and if I could it would only be temporary… and you would begin to question again. …You are going to have to -do this for yourself- and with God Himself… and He loves aiding and leading us in these “moments of decision”.. I wish I could give you a ‘One Size Fits All’ answer… and I could, but it would be “my answer” not your own! …I will say this… Jesus, God.in.the.flesh… is BIG enough for us all… He died for all and He was raised to New Life.. for all..!!! Now in my book, ALL means ALL… Now, It’s your turn to decide… So start Today…

paid,in.full  

Love, in His name…

.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die.  But God demonstrates his own love for us in this:

While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled,

shall we be saved through his life!

Romans 5:6-10 (NIV)

2 Comments on “Are you saved & Are you sure???”

  1. leighla93 says:

    Amen! I choose Him! Thank you for liking my poem on Mind’s Seat Pastor McCord. 🙂


Leave a Reply

