Overcome or Overcoming?.. Live or Die?

 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; He that OVERCOMETH shall not be hurt of the second death.Revelation 2:11

Ever have one of those mornings where what you are thinking is so personal that it is just hard to find the words to convey your thoughts to someone else??? …You have those days don’t you? Well, today is one of those days… Now I am not saying “personal” as in, private or embarrassing. I’m using personal, in the sense of, ‘I know, no one else is going to understand unless/until they have experienced what I am about to say’… See, I am already confused… Are you?

Lets try it this way… In late 2006, I was diagnosed with stage 3b lung cancer… the prognosis, 4 to 6 months without treatment… possibly 12 to 18 months with successful treatment… “A Death Sentence”… so to speak. ..Have you ever gotten one of those? …and I don’t mean someone you love got one, I mean you got one of your very own??? …now do you see my dilemma?

Most of the folks I know that got this “death sentence” have passed on over to the other side of life… the forever side of life, where Death, disease, sickness, pain, etc. no longer exist… So, those who would know what I am talking about… are not here any longer to talk about it with, you see?

Now, I am going to try to talk to you, so when this day does come in your life… and it will, hopefully you will be prepared to Overcome it!!! …That’s right…”overcoming death” or is it “overcoming life? …I will let you decide for yourself… 😉

‘Let’s Explore’

There are many, many Scriptures in the Bible that deal with “Life and Death” …in fact, the Old Covenant (Testament) in your Bible deals with the subject a lot and so does the New Covenant (Testament) but in a much different way… Life and Death, I dare to say, may be one of the primary themes of all the Scriptures; The Primary however being the “Love of God” as shown to us in the “beloved Son of God” Jesus. …I cannot get into all the verses and such because this would turn into a very long blog and besides they are already written down in another long blog, The Bible. Check it out, I am sure you have one somewhere, and if not, there are plenty of them on-line… I use www.biblegateway.com, but there are others as well.

Now, let me be clear… I am not trying to tell you how to hear or understand God’s Word… each of us must find our own “Love Language” that God speaks to us in… and God is very willing and ready for you to learn yours. God speaks in many tongues, (ways) ..and He will help you to discover the way He speaks to you… and it is NOT always through the Scriptures. …but I love the Scriptures.

Ok, now back to the subject… Overcome or Overcoming? … Living or Dying?

Sometimes for me it is hard to tell the difference anymore… You see, after you get a “Death Sentence” you really start to think about Life… or at least I did anyway… Don’t get me wrong… I was ready to die, at least in the sense of being prepared spiritually. I was not so much afraid of Death as I was of the process, if you can understand? …I was not ready to leave my wife, my kids, grandkids and friends… Heck, I even didn’t want to leave some of those I really don’t care that much about being around.. 😉 …and you know what? I sensed that Our Father was telling me it was MY choice… Can you believe that? …MY CHOICE..!!!

This caught me completely off-guard because this is not the way most of us believe. I had been taught from childhood that, we all will die someday… dying is apart of living… Adam and Eve sinned and because of that, and … so on and so forth. …You have heard all that too I’m sure. Now here is who I think? may be God telling me it’s My choice! … I almost died!!!So, I did what I always do when I believe God is talking to me about something I do not believe right or correctly and headed for my Bible! The first verses I came across that really hit me was… Psalm 118:17-18…  I will not die. I will live; I will live to tell about all the (Lord) has done. The (Lord) has taught me many lessons; He has been strict and severe, but even in His discipline, He has not allowed me to die.  …The next day I found this: …  Jeremiah 30:17a… I will restore you to health and I will heal all your wounds, “declares the Lord”….

I believe this post is going to be way too long if I don’t limit my thoughts … I know the plans I have for you ‘declares the Lord’ plans to prosper you, and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future… Jeremiah 29:11… I could go on and on but I will not..

Am I saying we don’t have to die someday? No, I am not saying that, but I am saying it does not have to be Today…does it? …I am afraid when “we” get these “death sentences” many times we just “give up the Ghost” as the ole saying goes… we believe our time has come and we just give in… we do not think about Overcoming death… we do not think about Overcoming Life… we just stop thinking at all… and that is death! …When you and I start believing all we have to look forward to is dying, in a sense we are already dead. …do you agree?

I hope this will help you think a bit differently about some of the things you have believed all your life… it is always better to be prepared so when the time comes… it won’t catch you off guard … I am still going strong.. living not dying.. proclaiming what is Lord has done…and is doing… hope you get into Him and allow “The Living One” to explain a thing or two to you too… Don’t wait till the day you get your Own… you won’t be prepared!

I always like to close with a visual, but today I just could not find one that could say what I thought it should say… so I made my own! Here it is…

live  

How do you like it???

Love, In Him

     Remember the words that you heard from me. Retain them as the model for healthy and sound teaching in the faith and love that are available in Jesus the Anointed. As for the precious thing entrusted to you, protect it with the help of the Holy Spirit who dwells within us.       

2 Timothy 1:13-14 VOICE

Leave a Reply

